working in crete next summer

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_princessneimh_*

Guest_princessneimh_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 September 2004 - 12:22 AM

hi..me and my friends were on holidays i crete during the summer...we loved it so much were goin back to crete for the summer next year i was wondering if there is any irish people willing to inform me of the do's and don'ts etc...of working in crete.....please

#2 Christine

Christine

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 23 September 2004 - 12:22 PM

Ok!!
So im not irish, but i thought ill write to ya anywayz..
I`ve been to hersonissos the last 4 years now, and this summer was my first one workin... i spent 4 months this summer.
I worked as a bartender/waitress in a bar called Escape just across from blarney stone and boomerang.
It was a good laugh, but harder than expected... the greek bosses r not to b messed with. Its their way or the high way.. well at least my boss..
But sum of me friends had really nice bosses... i think the boss in shenanigans was ok!!..

The best thing for u`s 2 do, is to book one week package trip, and look for a job and accommodation durin that time.
U beein irish, its easy 4 ya to find a job, cause the irish bars mainy wants irish staff.

The earlier in the season ya get there, the easier u`ll get a job.
Wot ya do is jst to go around to the bars, or where ever ya wanna work,and just ask if they need staff...
And the cheapest and nicest appt r up in koutolofari, and piskipiano..
the rent starts from 200-700 euro, depends on how big and nice ya want it. But the normal rent is 300 euro.
Myself and my best friend paid 300 euro a month devided on 2, that included a bedroom, a kitchen, and a bathroom.. it was average size.
it was 4-5 min from the street, and there were mainly irish ppl that lived there. And the foam party staff..

hope this was at any help to ya...

christine

#3 Guest_Jacqui_*

Guest_Jacqui_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 February 2005 - 11:14 AM