8 replies to this topic

#1 nanlan

nanlan

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 November 2008 - 08:40 AM

Hello! I am a student from the U.S. and I will be living/working in or around Heraklion from January - March 2009. I know winter is the down season in Crete, but I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on things to do or places to explore? The only problem is, I probably won't be able to drive around the island, but I will have access to the bus system. Also, since I do not yet have a great lay of the land, are there any places that are unsafe, since I will be traveling and living by myself the whole time there?

Any and all help and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Nancy

#2 Tim

Tim

Crete Explorer

• Moderators
  • 721 posts

Posted 21 November 2008 - 11:29 AM

Nancy
Many of the locals have relied upon buses to get them around the island for many years so no need to concern yourself at the lack of a car. The buses are run by Ktel and this site should be a starting place for the service they have http://www.bus-service-crete-ktel.com/
Taxis have also usually been regarded as good value compared to outside of Crete.
You will be pleased to know that Crete has long had a reputation as a place where women can safely travel around alone, although things are changing as more foreigners move to the island, Greeks remain amongst the most friendly people in the world to be with.
As to suggestions - start by having a good look around this site and get a few decent travel books. There is so much to see it's difficult to know where to start and what might be most appropriate for you.
Enjoy

#3 nanlan

nanlan

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 November 2008 - 07:12 PM

Thanks, Tim – I appreciate your help on this! It looks like bus will be the best way to go after all, since it looks like they are very extensive.

#4 Julie

Julie

Crete Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 22 November 2008 - 09:03 PM