#1 bobbi

bobbi

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 04:40 AM

Hi Everyone

This is my first time posting on this site! We are closing in on our first holiday to Greece with 9 days in Crete. We do plan to spend part of our vacation just travelling around so it keeps our options open, however I do like to get some idea of places to stay in advance so we have a few options. Plus with limited time it cuts down on the search for accomodation when I'd rather be enjoying my vacation!!!
A couple of questions for you experts:

I wonder if anyone has any suggestions of places to stay in Plakias and Matala. w'ed like simple, quiet and clean with a balcony and views if possible.

I have done quite a bit of research on car hires and it appears that there is no one place recommended as it is a bit hit and miss. It has been suggested that we go with a company like Hertz or Budget, etc as opposed to a small local agency. Would you agree? I have also heard booking on line in advance isn't always the best way to get a deal and doing it when we arrive might be the best way to go. Finally is it usually relatively easy to pick up in one location (we arrive in Chania) and drop off in another (we leave from Heraklion).

Thanks everyone for your help. We leave in 4 weeks and I can't tell you how excited I am. This trip has been a a year in the planning following 25 years of dreaming!

#2 Boiling Snail

Boiling Snail

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 10:01 AM

We book a car online in advance wherever we go. Sites like autoeurope.com will get you a Hertz, Avis etc. car cheaper than booking online with Hertz or Avis. Autoeurope book large numbers of cars daily and negotiate cheaper pricing.