#1 Sorin

Sorin

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 07 November 2006 - 12:20 PM

Hello!

Firs of all I'd like to say that I'm new to Crete.
I will work at the Computer Science Institute (FORTH-ICS) which I understood that is 7Km distance from Heraklion and it is located near Voutes and Stavrakia.
I'd like to ask you where do you think that is better to rent an apartment: in the city of Heraklion or outside the city? How much can be an apartment with 2 rooms? But a 3-rooms apartment?
How much can be the cheapest rental of a car? What other transportation services could I use (bus, etc) ?
How much do you estimate that I could spent with food per month?

Thank you very much
With best regards,
Sorin

#2 old viking

old viking

Traveler

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 November 2006 - 10:42 PM

Welcome to this place, Sorin!

I am new here myself, as you can see. For the time being I live in Norway, unable to help you with your housing problem. But hope that you might be able to help me with a small problem, as related in my last post on Living in Crete/ Internet: Will the "Internet in a Box" from the local Internet provider work with Linux?

old viking

#3 yannis_s

yannis_s

Crete Explorer

• Administrator
  • 1,072 posts

Posted 11 November 2006 - 09:34 AM

Sorin,
you may find this thread useful: http://members.explo...?...749&hl=rent

If you will have a car, then it will be easier to live outside of Heraklion. Apartments will be cheaper and you will avoid the heavy traffic of Heraklion.
Yannis Samatas
webmaster

#4 Sorin

Sorin

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:01 AM

Old Viking,

I'm not yet in Greece, so I don't know what kind of Internet Services is the local ISP offering.
But if you are referring to the software package named "Internet in a Box" (IBox) it was created in 1994 to provide a mean to connect to Internet from Windows (at that time Linux was just in the beginning of its existence).